Forthcoming Events 2020

12 Events listed

26 Nov

An Evening with Georges Bensoussan

Thursday 26 November 2020. The French historian Georges Bensoussan is the author of several books, including: Jews from Arab countries: the Great Uprooting. He Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Hexagon

Thursday, Nov 26, 2020 08:00 PM

25 Nov

160 years of the Alliance Israelite Universelle

Wednesday 25 November 2020. It is 160 years since the first  Alliance Israelite Universelle (AIU) school was founded in Tetuan, Morocco. Soon, a network Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Kiah/AIU/ JW3

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2020 07:30 AM

08 Jul

The Aden Jewish Museum – a virtual tour

Date TBC. With Sarah Ansbacher. An 8,000-member Jewish community lived in the British Crown Colony of Aden, at the southern tip of the Arabian peninsula, Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Wednesday, Jul 08, 2020 04:00 AM

28 Jul

Miss Judy and the rescue of Syrian Jews

Tuesday 28 july, 7:30 pm UK time. Canadian musicologist Judy Feld-Carr became involved in the smuggling and ransoming of Jews from Syria - from the 1970s Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jul 28, 2020 07:30 PM

21 Jul

Jewish Identity, Jewish Diversity – Virtual event

Tuesday 21 July, 7:30 pm UK time. From Uzbekistan to Tunisia, Yemen to the US, India to Russia, renowned photographer Zion Ozeri explores the cross-cultural Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jul 21, 2020 07:30 PM

14 Jul

Treats from Tunisia, virtual event

Tuesday 14 July, 7:30 pm UK time 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel. Fabienne Viner-Luzzato was born in Paris of Tunisian parents and now lives Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jul 14, 2020 07:30 AM

07 Jul

How can Mizrahi Voices matter? virtual event

Tuesday 7 July 2020. 7:30 pm UK time. As anti-racism protests sweep the world, Israeli speaker, writer and activist (with Iraqi and Tunisian roots) Hen Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jul 07, 2020 07:30 AM

30 Jul

Tales of Jewish Afghanistan – Virtual event

Tuesday 30 June at 7:30 pm UK time 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel Scholar of Islam Dr Harold Rhode will share memories of his travels to Afghanistan Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Thursday, Jul 30, 2020 07:30 AM

23 Jun

Lucky escape from Libya – Virtual Event

Tuesday 23 June, 7:30 pm UK time / 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel Palazzo Nahum in Tripoli is a monument to one of Libya's leading Jewish families. Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jun 23, 2020 07:30 AM

18 Jun

Justice for Jews from Arab Countries – Virtual event

Thursday 18 June. 7 pm UK time. With expert Dr. Stanley Urman, we invite you to join us as we explore the history of efforts to pursue recognition, justice, Read More »

Orgnizer: JIMENA/ Harif

Thursday, Jun 18, 2020 07:00 AM

16 Jun

Summer flavours of Babylon – virtual cookery demonstration

Tuesday 16 June, 7:30 pm UK time / 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel. Join Baghdad-born designer, painter, potter and food writer Linda Dangoor Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Jun 16, 2020 07:30 AM

20 May

Lifting the veil on Jewish life in Iran – Virtual event

Tues 9 June 2020.7:30 pm UK time 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel. Iranian-American Jewish journalist, speaker and activist Karmel Melamed will Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 07:30 AM