Summer flavours of Babylon – virtual cookery demonstration

Tuesday 16 June, 7:30 pm UK time / 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel.
Join Baghdad-born designer, painter, potter and food writer Linda Dangoor in her cookery demonstration. Her cookbook, entitled Flavours of Babylon, celebrates the flavours and recipes of her Baghdadi heritage. Her website is: www.lindadangoor.com. For Zoom details email info@harif.org.

To cook along with Linda you will need the following ingredients:

Cucumber and goat cheese ‘sushi’ appetiser:
Modern take on Tzatziki and Middle Eastern yogurt salads of cucumbers, mint and garlic. You will need a vegetable peeler.


Serves 2

100g soft goat cheese or cream cheese
1 small cucumber (or 2 Mediterranean ones, if possible)
½ a clove garlic, finely minced or crushed
Extra virgin olive oil
A pinch of za’atar (if you have)
Salt and cayenne pepper to taste
1 fresh tomato, diced (for garnish)

Masgouf
An Iraqi-Jewish favourite. You will need a bowl or dish to marinate the fish and an oven dish.

The Fish: About a 600g thick haddock loin fillet
or about 1kg whole sea bass, butterflied or 4 sea bass fillets

2 shallots , very thinly sliced
1 large tomato, thickly sliced or 10 small cherry tomatoes cut in half

The marinade:
5 tablespoons olive oil
1 teaspoon tamarind paste (if not available add another tablespoon of lemon juice)
4 tablespoons lemon juice
1½ to 2 tablespoons hot curry powder
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1/2 teaspoon tomato puree
I teaspoon salt or to taste
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika

For the garnish
! teaspoon Zaatar for sprinkling (optional)
I teaspoon fresh coriander, finely chopped