Shanghai Express: Baghdadi Jews in China

Tuesday 27 October, UK 19:30/ET 15:30/PT 12:30/Israel 21:30/Europe 20:30: Dr Maisie Meyer, author of From the rivers of Babylon to the Whangpoo will take us on an exciting journey aboard the Shanghai Express. A small number of adventurous Baghdadi Jewish merchants – never more than 1,000 – began settling in Shanghai in the mid-19th century. They accomplished spectacular deeds and made this far away outpost a leading financial centre.