Forthcoming Events 2020

12 Events listed

02 May

The British in Iraq: Were they good for the Jews? Virtual event

Tuesday 2 June 2020. 7:30 pm UK time 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel. With Lyn Julius Seventy-nine years to the day since the outbreak of the Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Saturday, May 02, 2020 07:31 AM

01 Jun

Remembering the Farhud – Virtual event

MondaY 1 June 2020, 7 PM UK time. Joe Samuels who was born in the Jewish quarter of the old city of Baghdad and was 10 years old when the Farhud, the Read More »

Orgnizer: JIMENA/ Harif

Monday, Jun 01, 2020 07:00 AM

26 May

How I discovered the Iraqi-Jewish Archive – Virtual event

Tues 26 May 2020. 7:30 pm UK time 11:30 am PT | 2:30 pm ET | 9:30 pm Israel. In 2003 Pentagon analyst Harold Rhode was the first to recognise that a collection Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, May 26, 2020 07:30 AM

19 May

Jewish Refugees, Israeli Politics and Peace – Virtual event

Tues 19 May. ZOOM conversation with Ashley Perry, architect of the 30 November Day of Commemoration of the Exodus of Jewish refugees from Arab lands and Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 07:30 AM

11 Jun

POSTPONED: The Lost Crown film

Thurs 11 June 2020, 7:30 pm. Film, The Lost Crown ( 60 mins -2018) by Avi Dabash, followed by Q&A with Rabbi Joseph Dweck.¬† For seven centuries, Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/ S&P Sephardi Community

Thursday, Jun 11, 2020 07:30 AM

19 May

POSTPONED: Oppressed religious minorities of the Middle East

Tuesday 19 May, 6 pm - 8pm. House of Commons Committee Room. B'nai B'rith/ Harif. Launch of report by Jeremy Havardi of B'nai B'rith and Foundation for Read More »

Orgnizer: B'nai B'rith/ Harif

Tuesday, May 19, 2020 06:00 AM

17 May

‘ Mossad’ film: Virtual SERET festival

21 - 30 May 2020. SERET virtual film festival. Harif recommends the film comedy 'Mossad'.The Mossad and CIA team up to save the world from an international Read More »

Orgnizer: Seret/Harif

Sunday, May 17, 2020 08:30 AM

13 May

My four weeks of Ramadan in Morocco – Virtual event via ZOOM

Wednesday 13 May 2020, 7:30 pm. Michelle Huberman , creative director of Harif, shares her Jewish perspective of living for four weeks weeks in Fez, Morocco Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Spiro Ark/HGSS

Wednesday, May 13, 2020 07:30 AM

25 Apr

Tales of Jewish Sudan, and back to my roots. Virtual event via ZOOM

Tuesday 5 May, 7:30 pm UK time. Daisy Abboudi will guide you through the small, but fascinating community that her grandparents and great grandparents Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Saturday, Apr 25, 2020 07:30 AM

22 Apr

Why did the Jews leave Morocco? Virtual event via ZOOM

Wednesday 22 April 2020, 7:30 pm. The exodus from Morocco after Israel was established was not as dramatic as from other Arab countries. Nonetheless only Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Spiro Ark/HGSS

Wednesday, Apr 22, 2020 07:30 AM

26 Mar

POSTPONED: UPROOTED at Stanmore United Synagogue

This event has been¬† postponed from Thursday 26 March 2020, 7:30 pm. Who are the Jews from Arab countries? What were relations like with the Muslims Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Stanmore synagogue

Thursday, Mar 26, 2020 07:30 AM

05 Mar

POSTPONED: Behind the Headlines: Iran, Israel and the Jews

THIS EVENT HAS regrettably BEEN CANCELLED. Thursday 5 March 2020. Refunds at www.spiroark.org. Tel 0207 794 4655. Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Spiro Ark/Holland Park Synagogue

Thursday, Mar 05, 2020 07:30 AM