Forthcoming Events 2020

12 Events listed

25 Nov

160 years of the Alliance Israelite Universelle – JW3 virtual event

Wednesday 25 November 2020. JW3/Harif. One hundred and sixty years ago, the Alliance Israélite Universelle (AIU) brought about tremendous change in the Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Kiah/AIU/ JW3

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2020 07:30 AM

02 Nov

The Plight of MENA Religious Minorities : a war for civilisation?

Monday 2 November, 8 pm UK/ 15:00 ET/ 12:00 PT; 22:00 IL/ 21:00 Europe. The 20th century was an era of mass ethnic cleansing, and the last few decades Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/ Bnai Brith

Monday, Nov 02, 2020 08:00 AM

27 Oct

Shanghai Express: Baghdadi Jews in China

Tuesday 27 October, UK 19:30/ET 15:30/PT 12:30/Israel 21:30/Europe 20:30: Dr Maisie Meyer, author of From the rivers of Babylon to the Whangpoo will take Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2020 07:30 AM

20 Oct

Snapshots of Sephardi postal history – virtual event

TUESDAY 20 OCTOBER (7:30 pm UK time/ 11:30 am PT/ 2:30 pm ET/ 8:30 pm Europe/ 9:30 pm Israel.) Nigel Grizzard and Laurence Julius,two avid collectors, Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Oct 20, 2020 07:30 AM

13 Oct

The Wolf of Baghdad book review – virtual event

TUESDAY 13 OCTOBER - NOTE TIME 6:00 pm UK time/ 10:00am PT/ 1:00 pm ET/ 7:00 pm Europe/ 8:00 pm Israel. The Wolf of Baghdad ,Carol Isaacs' highly-acclaimed Read More »

Orgnizer: The Spanish/ Harif/ JIMENA

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2020 01:00 AM

06 Oct

Une soirée avec Georges Bensoussan (en français)- virtual event

Tuesday 6 October 2020, 7:30 pm UK/ 8:30 pm Europe/ 9:30 pm Israel/ 11:30 am PT/ 2:30 ET. The French historian Georges Bensoussan is the author of several Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Oct 06, 2020 07:30 AM

22 Sep

The secret Jews of Mashad – virtual event

Tuesday 22 September, 7:30 pm UK/ 2:30 pm ET/ 11:30 PT/ 9;30 pm Israel. In 1839, the Jews of the holy city of Mashad in Persia were forced to convert Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Sep 22, 2020 07:30 AM

15 Sep

Jewish divas in Iraq – virtual event

Tues 15 September, 7:30 pm UK time. / 11:30 am PT/ 2:30 pm ET/ 8:30 pm Europe/ 9:30 pm Israel. Salima Pasha (Murad) was the doyenne of 20th century Iraqi Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Sep 15, 2020 07:30 AM

08 Sep

The Second Exodus from Egypt – Virtual event

Tuesday 8 September, 7 pm UK time. 11 am PT/ 14:00 ET/ 21:00 Israel. Lecturer, sociologist, poet and author Ada Aharoni will tell us about her Egyptian Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/ Bnai Brith

Tuesday, Sep 08, 2020 07:00 AM

25 Aug

Highlights of the Cairo Geniza – virtual event

Tuesday 25 August, 7:30 pm UK time. Virtual tour of highlights from the world's largest collection of manuscripts from the Cairo Geniza dating back to Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Aug 25, 2020 07:30 AM

03 Aug

The Arabs and the Holocaust – virtual event

Tuesday 18 August, 7:30 pm UK/ 2;30 pm ET/ 11.30 PT/ 9:30 pm Israel The impact of Nazism on the Jewish communities of the Arab world was mitigated by Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Monday, Aug 03, 2020 07:30 AM

11 Aug

La mémoire effacée du monde sépharade – en français

Tuesday 11 August, 7 pm UK time, 2 pm ET, 11 am PT, 8 pm Europe, 9pm Israel. Eminent French sociologist and intellectual, author of numerous books and Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Tuesday, Aug 11, 2020 07:00 AM