Forthcoming Events 2019

12 Events listed

30 Nov

Mizrachi Music Evening with Eastern Beats

Motsei Shabbat, 30 November: An Evening of Mizrachi Music with oriental band Eastern Beats, to mark the 6th Memorial Day for Jewish refugees from Arab Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/ S&P Sephardi Community

Saturday, Nov 30, 2019 07:30 AM

10 Nov

Jews of the Middle East at Middle Street

Sunday 10 November. Sephardi evening at Middle St Synagogue, Brighton. Talk by Lyn Julius at 6 pm to explain the Jewish refugees of the Middle East exhibition Read More »

Orgnizer:

Sunday, Nov 10, 2019 06:00 AM

03 Nov

The changing image of the Jew in Egyptian Cinema and TV

Sunday 3 November 2019, 17:00. Despite being a small and now almost extinct minority in Egypt, Jews have been always present on the Egyptian screen (actress Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/ Spiro Ark/AJE

Sunday, Nov 03, 2019 05:00 PM

11 Sep

Zim and Zam Jews: a talk by Saul Zadka

Wed 11 September 2019, 7:30 pm. Fascinating talk by our popular and intrepid speaker Dr Saul Zadka, about his trip to Zambia and Zimbabwe in Africa. In Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Spiro Ark

Wednesday, Sep 11, 2019 07:30 AM

09 Sep

Clash of Cultures?

Monday 9 September 2019, 8:00 pm. Michelle Huberman shares her Jewish perspective of living for four weeks weeks in Fez, Morocco during Ramadan. A colourful Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Monday, Sep 09, 2019 08:00 AM

08 Sep

Who owns the Middle East’s Jewish heritage?

Sun 8 September 2019, 11 am, part of B'nai B'rith Heritage Days. With the exodus of 99 percent of the Middle East's Jewish population, the thorny question Read More »

Orgnizer: Bnai Brith/Holland Park

Sunday, Sep 08, 2019 11:00 AM

30 Jun

Harif at Islington Big Jewish Summer Fete

Sunday 30 June, 2 - 5 pm, Highbury Fields, Islington. HARIF is delighted to be taking part in the Islington BIG JEWISH SUMMER FETE and will be bringing Read More »

Orgnizer: Chabad Islington

Sunday, Jun 30, 2019 02:00 PM

15 May

Who owns Jewish Heritage in the Middle East?

Wed 15 May 2019. 7:30 pm With the exodus of 99 percent of the Middle East's Jewish population, the thorny question remains: what happens to the communal Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Spiro Ark

Wednesday, May 15, 2019 07:30 AM

01 May

The Holocaust and North Africa

Wed 1 May 2019. Talk by Daniel Lee of Sheffield University. UCS. Spiro Ark/ Harif.To commemorate Yom Hashoah, Daniel Lee, one of the UK’s specialists Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif

Wednesday, May 01, 2019 12:00 PM

02 Apr

French Jews in London

Who are they, why are they here and will they be affected post-Brexit? Tues 2 April 2019, 8.15 pm. speaker: Michelle Huberman, creative director of Harif. Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Edgware US

Tuesday, Apr 02, 2019 08:15 AM

12 Feb

Journey from Tunisia – and memories of Djerba

Tuesday 12 February 2019. 7: 30 pm. A short film by Jonathan Maimon in which he interviews members of his family from Gabes. Followed by talk by Djerba-born Read More »

Orgnizer: Harif/Sephardi community

Tuesday, Feb 12, 2019 07:30 PM

24 Dec

Harif at Limmud Festival 2018

Monday 24 December. Limmud Festival, Birmingham.  Lyn Julius will present 'Who owns Jewish heritage in the Middle East'? 12 - 13 pm. and 'What Jeremy Read More »

Orgnizer: Limmud

Monday, Dec 24, 2018 12:00 AM